College: RockIt! presents Kate Parsons

Kate ParsonsSophomore public relations major Carrie Drummond had the chance to sit down and ask Kate Parsons, a sophomore fashion merchandising major, about her experiences, passions and future plans:

How did you choose your major?

I chose my major because growing up in a really small town, there weren’t too many ways to express yourself.  For me, I expressed myself through the clothes I wore.  I worked at Fashion Bug during high school, and I loved helping people pick out clothes because I saw how the right outfit really boosted their self-confidence. People feel better about themselves through the clothes they wear.

What do you love about Fashion Merchandising?

I love everything. It’s a really fun, laid-back environment.  I enjoy going to my classes and learning about fashion. The classes really interest me, and you get to do a lot of hands-on things.  The teachers are really helpful.

What is your dream career?

To work for a non-profit organization, where the money they make is donated to people from poor countries. My big dream for myself would be to own my own clothing store where people could come and get great customer service and talk about life. It would be a Christian-based store. I want my store to be named after a verse from Jeremiah in the Bible.

What advice would you give to middle school students thinking about college?

If you have a dream and you really want to do something, just go ahead and pursue it.  I know everyone says that, but if you really love something and you have a passion for something, college gives you the opportunity to explore that passion and accomplish your goals and dreams.

Leave a comment